Fairy Garden Beginnings

I might be late, but I’m jumping onto the fairy garden bandwagon with my own take on things: herbs! There has been a veritable craze of fairy gardening going on in the garden world and I’ve been trying to resist. The idea of a tiny garden keeps growing on me though. I’m not interested in the furniture or the houses, or the fixings of many gardens, though I am contemplating the addition of a few stepping stones.

IMG_9291

Many fairy gardens seem full after planting, but because I’m going with herbs and I do intend to harvest them, I wanted to leave room for mine to spread.

IMG_9293

I chose Corsican mint as my fairy carpet. Though invasive like all mints, it is labeled as a slow grower. It will eventually have tiny light purple blooms and spread a good bit.

IMG_9294

Roman Chamomile has intrigued me for sometime, especially once I learned it is the variety used for tea. German Chamomile, the variety for which you can usually find seeds, is grown strictly for its flowers. I’m using it as a large flowering shrub in my garden,

IMG_9297 IMG_9296

Basil will be my “trees”, I have both Red Rubin and the sweet Basil. The red for some color and contrast, the green because I’m interested in pesto. Purple pesto might be weird.

IMG_9298

English Thyme is another one of my shrubberies. It tends to spill more than I would like, so I’ve braided mine into a more upright shape.

IMG_9300

Hyssop is cool. So I’m growing hyssop. It’s going to be another flowering shrub.

IMG_9299

And Lavender. I love Lavender. The smell, the flower, everything. It’s my favorite herb. It’s going to be more of an upright tree/shrub type thing.

I can’t wait until things have filled out and adapted to their new environment a little bit.

fairy garden layout

Layout, neither exact nor to scale, but to give you a decent idea of how I’ve placed my herbs.

5 responses to “Fairy Garden Beginnings

  1. I’ve been enjoying my herbs this year too! I’ve mint, basil, oregano, thyme, sage, bee balm, and some others. I too like seeing the fairy gardens. I was into barbies and such and the gardens are just CUTE!!

    • I really want to grow a few different kinds of mint, but I haven’t quite found the place to dedicate to it.

      My fairy garden is looking a little overgrown right now…thinking I need to make a few fairy fences!

Leave a Reply

