Past Adventures in Historical Clothing

ImageImage

I made this 1860’s-style ballgown for myself. Inspiration was taken from this image:
Image

Mine was a three-piece ensemble consisting of skirt, bodice and waist-cincher. It was my first experience working with taffeta and I learned a lot. Like how it smells like acetate when you first get it. And how it unravels in the wind when you hang it to air out. And how it absolutely must be serged/finished or your skirt will fall to pieces. The bodice I made from a leftover piece of white satin and edged in taffeta. The waist-cincher was another experience entirely as I put eyelets in the taffeta. I’m still ridiculously proud of this dress, even though I’ve worn it a grand total of once.

One response to “Past Adventures in Historical Clothing

Leave a Reply

