Past Adventures in Historical Clothing, Part Two

Image

My family generally plans an annual historical ball. For a few years the theme was Civil War Christmas, but recently we moved it to October (warmer and less busy) and changed the theme to costume. Before that happened though, one of my sister’s best friends wanted a dress.

My favorite thing in the world to do is to look at a picture and make my own spin on it, so I sent her to the computer. She chose this design:
Image

Her material was a beautiful green satin and someone had just given me a gorgeous piece of bright pink floral organza that I was puzzling over. It was too bright to go over white, but it was perfect over the green. So I overlaid. I did make the dress two pieces, rather than the one it appears in the inspirational image.

She was very particular about the bows on the shoulders.
Image

I was very particular about the ruffles on the sleeves.
Image
Image
Image

The bodice zips up the back, which definitely isn’t traditional or period correct, but it does allow for ease of dressing.

Image

I call it my masterpiece on rare occasions. At least until I make something I’m more satisfied with.

2 responses to “Past Adventures in Historical Clothing, Part Two

Leave a Reply

