Sewing Tutorials

It has recently come to my attention that friends who live at a distance want to know how to sew. I was talking about it with a friend, and an idea was hatched. Online sewing tutorials!

They’ll be happening over at here as soon as I get all of the kinks worked out, as well as time to make examples and take pictures. Hopefully I can incorporate parts of my twice-monthly sewing class into it and vice versa.

So far, lesson-wise, I have:

Sewing Machine Basics – I have about six different sewing machines floating around here that I will be taking pictures of and pointing out the parts and what they do.

Tools – a variety of sewing implements, what they’re best used for, what you actually need, what’s nice to have, etc.

Seam finishes – such as zigzag, pinking, serging, french seams, how to do them, and what they work best for.

Then, unless anyone has any further suggestions to add to those three basic lessons, we’ll start our first project:

Throw Pillows. Because I easily get bored with throw pillows and I always want mine to look different several weeks later, our throw pillow class will be on making a plain, muslin pillow. The plainness of your pillow will be determined by the pattern or lack thereof on your fabric.

The second project will be Throw Pillow Pillowcases. It’s an idea I really like because then I can change my pillows anytime I want to, and if I go on a cleaning craze I just take the pillow out and wash the pillowcase. There are several types of pillowcases, too, so that will feasibly be more than one project.

From there, I’m open to suggestions. So please, suggestions. A small quilt is a possibility. Pillowcases, napkins, tea towels, bags, purses, wallets, etc. I need to know if I should go with more of a home focus, or more of a personal focus. I NEED SUGGESTIONS AND ADVICE.

I do fully intend to do a giveaway though. Materials for two throw pillows and six different throw pillowcases. It’ll help clear out our enormous fabric stash. 😉
Further information will be posted as I get to it. But if you’ve got any suggestions, let me know!

Leave a Reply

